Durban City F.C.

Red, Blue &White

New Kingsmead, Durban
N. Elliot
M. Deetliffs
P.O. Box 3313, Durban
Durban City were first named Durban United and as such were one of the pioneer teams of the N.F.L. Started by Topper Brown and Norman Elliot they were one of the glamour clubs of South Africa.

At first they shared with Durban United the ground at Hoy Park but later moved to Old Kingsmead and eventually to the ground at New Kingsmead Stadium.

Every trophy came their way except the National Shield. The team for the first three seasons contained eight Springboks and the forward line contained Le Roux, Moffat, Salton, Deetliffs and George Barrett, possibly the best attack seen in South African club soccer.

They were badly hit in 1962 when their trio of stars, Salton, Deetliffs and Le Roux were transferred to Durban United, but judicious buying saw them recover and such players as Chalmers, Willie Allan, John Rugg, Jim Scott, Keith Blackburn and Billy Higgins among others saw them retain their proud place in the National Football League.

After a moderate season in 1966, they finished in a blaze of glory by winning the U.T.C. Bowl in 1967 for the third time.

N. Elliot

T. Brown

Clubs Records

Castle Cup: Winners in 1960, 1962 and 1964 and runners up in 1961
U.T.C. Bowl: Winners in 1959, 1961, 1965 and 1967 and runners up in 1964.
Champions: Winners in 1960 and shared honours with Highlands Park in 1961, and with Germiston Callies and Highlands Park in 1962.

League Results
PWD LFA PPosition
1960 28193 69347 412nd
1961 30225 312752 491st
1962 34234 79040 503rd
1963 34207 710253 473rd
1964 32188 68549 442nd
1965 30184 88342 403rd
1966 30145 116960 338th
1967 28164 97154 346th

More N.F.L. Clubs ....

Info on Other Clubs:

New Kingsmead, Durban

NFL Index

Durban City F.C.
Back Row: G. Brown, E. Hopkins, J. Moncur, G. Wooton, D. Shewring, G. Kidd, A. Willey, J.Scott. Front Row: R. Howieson, J. Pearson, D. Smethurst, R.Braithwaite.

Stars ....

George Wootton

Gary Brown

Ken Dennyschen

Bobby Braithwaite

Alan Jay

Errol Hopkins

Jim Scott

Alan Willey

Bill Higgins

Jimmy Pearson

Graham Kidd

Derek Smethurst

Jimmy Moncur

Dave Forsyth

Bert Howieson